• LDS Hymn Trios for Organ, Vol. 1
The Pathway to Hymn Playing series is designed to mitigate the fears one might experience having been pressed into playing the organ for a worship service with minimal or no previous organ training. The initial difficulties of playing hymns with basic principles of organ technique are minimized by presenting the hymns in three voices instead of the traditional four, thus allowing one voice to be played by the right hand, the second by the left hand, and the third by both feet on the pedalboard. Since this series is targeted to assisting organists who serve in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, hymns from the denomination’s hymnal, Hymns of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, are featured.
While the driving force behind the arrangement of these trios is to create settings that will support congregational singing with basic principles of organ technique, one can certainly use these settings for prelude and postlude music by playing the hymn melody with a single solo stop or combination of stops and the other voices employing registrations that balance the melodic line.
Hymns published in Volume 1 include:


  • Come, Come, Ye Saints
  • Father, Thy Children to Thee Now Raise
  • Guide Us, O Thou Great Jehovah
  • High on the Mountain Top
  • Hope of Israel
  • How Great the Wisdom and the Love
  • Jesus, Once of Humble Birth
  • Jesus, the Very Thought of Thee
  • Joseph Smith’s First Prayer
  • In Humility, Our Savior
  • Lord, Dismiss Us with Thy Blessing
  • Praise to the Lord, the Almighty
  • Sing We Now at Parting
  • We’ll Sing All Hail to Jesus’ Name
  • While of These Emblems We Partake

Write a review

Please login or register to review

LDS Hymn Trios for Organ, Vol. 1

  • Composer: Pickering, David
  • Product Code: TRC-201
  • SKU: TRC-201
  • UPC: 979-0-3026-0
  • Availability: In Stock
  • $12.99

Tags: david pickering, lds hymn trios for organ, pathway to hymn playing, trc-201